Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: NHS and Opticians  (Read 1501 times)

• LA to London - Woo hoo!
  • Liked: 0
NHS and Opticians
« on: November 29, 2003, 07:58:14 PM »
Can someone please explain what NHS covers for opticians, glasses and/or contact lenses?  Hubby can't see and needs to go in to get new contacts, and we were wondering what NHS will cover.

Thanks!

• Philadelphia, PA to York in 2000
  • Liked: 1
Re: NHS and Opticians
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2003, 08:17:53 PM »
I'm no expert but I didn't think the NHS covered opticians or glasses/contacts. Then again, I've never asked.

I have terrible vision and rely heavily on my contacts/glasses but I've always just paid the optician myself and luckily my employer re-pays up to £20 per year for vision tests.

That just leaves the contacts which I buy mailorder as it's *much* cheaper. I can recommend Postoptics if you're looking for a cheaper solution than buying from the optician. I've used them for years with excellent service.

Hope that helps!

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2003, 10:04:30 PM »

That just leaves the contacts which I buy mailorder as it's *much* cheaper. I can recommend Postoptics if you're looking for a cheaper solution than buying from the optician. I've used them for years with excellent service.

Got a website for this company?  I suppose I could also just Google it! ;)  I'm all for finding a cheaper way to buy contacts!

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2003, 10:52:24 PM »

Got a website for this company?  I suppose I could also just Google it! ;)  I'm all for finding a cheaper way to buy contacts!