Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: At My Age?  (Read 1329 times)

• Can't wait to move! :-)
  • Liked: 0
At My Age?
« on: January 07, 2004, 07:56:30 PM »
Hello! My name is Doreen and I am new to the whole ex-pat thing. I will be moving to Hampshire in Sept-Nov. 2004, dependingon when my divorce is final and I get things packed up. I know I am in for some big changes when I move from the DC area to Hampshire, but I am hoping I can cope. I already have friends in England and I have traveled to the UK over 15 times spending a great deal of time there. However, I'm not young...I will be close to 43 when I move over, and Kevin (the Brit in question) will be close to 50!  [smiley=stunned.gif]

My question is...is there anyone on this list as old and settled as I am moved to the UK?  ??? Any advice?
I long to let our love run free,
Yet here I am a victim of geography.
-Billy Bragg

Re: At My Age?
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2004, 08:04:38 PM »
Hi Doreen and welcome to the forum.   :)  I'm afraid I can't answer your question(I was twenty five and it was fourteen years ago.  But I just wanted to say hi and that there are quite a few members who've moved in similar circumstances and I'm sure they'll join in this conversation soon.

• Living by the sea with the man of my dreams!
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2004, 02:12:02 PM »
Hi Doreen!  Yes, there are several of us on this board in your age group!  I'm 45 and just moved over here in June to join my husband (then fiance) who is 43.  I was very settled in the US but didn't find it a huge difficulty to uproot myself.  I really don't think age has to be a huge factor although I've always been a a risk taking type person.  This is about as big a stretch as I've ever made though.  I'm very, very happy here and don't feel the adjustment has been that difficult.   My kids are grown and still back in the US and I do miss them but I'd feel that way no matter what age I was.