Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Fiancee Visa questions  (Read 727 times)

• Because he's a surfer and i'm a scot!
  • Liked: 0
Fiancee Visa questions
« on: October 25, 2006, 10:07:41 AM »
Hello

Firstly, what a fantastic web-site! 

I'm hoping to get some advice, i've read a number of the forum chats and found them really helpful but i have a couple of questions that i don't think have been covered...apologies if they have, i know that a lot of people are asking the same things over and over so you must all be very patient!

I recently got engaged to my american boyfriend - i'm very happy!  We were hoping to be married in the uk (i'm a uk resident living in Edinburgh, Scotland) but i'm lost with all the hoops we seem to have to jump through!  Whatever happened to romance in this country?!

Does anyone have any idea how long it takes to go through the Fiancee Visa Application process?  He'd be submitting it in Los Angeles.  I'm sure every office is different, but we were already planning to have him visit in November of this year which we'd be happy to delay if the process was a matter of weeks, but not if it was a matter of months?

I (think I) know that he can't change from a visitors visa to a fiancee visa during his stay, but if he was to return to the US after his visit (we're planning an extended trip of upto the whole 6 months), and then applied for the visa , would the 6 months that he'd already spent in the UK have an affect on his application - i.e .would he have to remain out of the country for a further 6 months before he could re-enter?

I've read that it seems to be easier to be married in the US, but we've got our heart set on a scottish wedding, so any help anyone can give will help me to at least start making plans.

I hope this makes sense and am grateful for any advice, help or pointers anyone can give me.

Many thanks
caroline

Re: Fiancee Visa questions
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2006, 10:21:25 AM »