Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Student Loans  (Read 1600 times)

• Liked: 1
Student Loans
« on: February 08, 2004, 12:11:23 AM »
Hi...I have a question that I am sure someone here can answer.  I moved to the UK strainght after I finished Uni.  I have about $30,000 in students loans (Yikes! I know!).  I have been deferring these for the last three years, but my ability to do this will shortly be coming to an end.  I am unsure how to take things forward.  I do not have bank account in the US, or a credit card to make the payments from.  (I also can not really afford to make the payments any way, but that is another matter). I do not envision ever going back to the US to live, but I do not want to close any doors to myself or husband if we do need to go back.  How have you all handled your student loans from the states?  Ooh the other problem is that I need a copy of my transcripts from my school to apply for a masters degree!!  It is very complicated!

Kathryn
"It doesn't matter what you do in the bedroom as long as you don't do it in the street and frighten the horses."   Mrs Patrick Campbell (1865-1940) English Actress

• Back again
  • Liked: 0
Re: Student Loans
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2004, 07:50:16 PM »
Hi Kat,

Have you consolidated your loans? That brought my payments down substantially.

Have you called your loan provider to discuss options? I know with Sally Mae, they will work with you when it's time to start paying back.

• Back again
  • Liked: 0
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2004, 07:54:20 PM »
Hi Kat  :)

Have you consolidated your loans? That brought my payments down substantially.

Have you called your loan provider to discuss options? I know with Sallie Mae, they will work with you when it's time to start paying back.