Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Hello, I'm new here and wanting a bit of advice  (Read 438 times)

• Liked: 0
Hello, I'm new here and wanting a bit of advice
« on: July 16, 2007, 10:09:32 PM »
I posted this in the "Welcome Wagon" but thought posting here maybe beneficial:

Hello,
 This forum is really a great find for someone who is considering a move from the US to the UK. I'm glad to have stumbled upon it.
 Long story short, I studied in London during my junior year of college and couldn't wait to go back, so I prepared to study there again during law school. I applied to and got into a program at a London law school, but my own law school wouldn't certify the program for me, so I didn't get to go. This is something that has bothered me for the past 3 years.

So now I've graduated from school, have passed the bar examination and am practicing law in St. Louis. However I still can't shake the feeling that I want to move back to England. I have been doing some preliminary research and think that I could qualify through the HSMP or through my fiancee (will be husband as of 1 September) as it seems he qualifies for an Irish passport through ancestry.

I guess my main issue is employment. I'm not married to the idea of continuing to practice law in England, I would actually like to work in the non-profit or public sector if possible, and am hoping that my experience in pro bono law would help. I would love to get any advice on the following:

1) Anyone else on here a lawyer that came to the UK and sought employment? What were your experiences (also I do domestic relations law, not SEC work or privitization or any other thing that will allow me to work in a big firm practicing US law..not that I'd want to)

2) Does anyone have any familiarity with the HSMP and is it really just a matter of qualifying on the "points system"?

3) Has anyone come over on an EU passport that they obtained through ancestry dual citizenship and how difficult was it to obtain?