Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Ageism, internal candidates, and HE Admin  (Read 1178 times)

• Why a duck?
  • Liked: 0
Ageism, internal candidates, and HE Admin
« on: March 18, 2004, 02:27:39 AM »
Happy St. Patrick's Day, everyone!

This is about ageism and internal candidates.  I am a HE administrator with 20 years experience at Harvard University, 10 years as Asst. Director of an academic program.  Of course, I am not 30 years old.  Does it rankle anyone else that even though the UK says it's working on obliterating ageism, everyone still wants a birthdate on the CV?  Has anyone just omitted their birthdate and been interviewed?  

Since I will be living somewhere between Durham and Glasgow, my job search is rather narrow.  Although I won't apply until I have my visa, I am very familiar with the uni web sites.  Time and again I have seen jobs go to internal applicants, then the applicants' jobs are posted.  Is there a trick to knowing if a posting has a strong internal candidate?

TIA, Chris
When I find a funnier sig than twistedncynical's, it will be here.

• Hi there.
    • Trophy Pet Foods
Re: Ageism, internal candidates, and HE Admin
« Reply #1 on: March 18, 2004, 06:36:55 AM »
I think it's a horrible form of ageism that if you're under 30, you can come and work in the UK(albeit for a limited time), but if you're over 30, you have VERY few options. >:(

Good luck, Chrishamil. Sorry I can't help. Just adding my 2 cents.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2004, 06:38:05 AM by snupy »
"I bought some batteries, but they weren't included."-Steven Wright

« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2004, 11:04:15 AM »