Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Jobs!  Jobs!  Jobs!  (Read 2350 times)

• Liked: 1
Jobs!  Jobs!  Jobs!
« on: November 12, 2002, 06:54:56 PM »
As noted in my introduction post, I will be moving sometime in Spring next year.  One of my biggest concerns is finding a job!  My husband should have no problem; however, I am mainly worried about myself.  I have a Bachelors degree in Marketing with a minor in MIS (computers).  I will have about 2 years experience in Marketing when I leave the US.  I highly doubt I will have a job lined up for me when I get there.  How long did it take you all to find a job in England when you got there?  Was it hard?  Any advice I would LOVE!!! to hear.  I guess I am a tad bit worried because I am an American, and I have an American degree (as does my husband)  Thanks!
Tracy [smiley=worried.gif]  

Re: Jobs!  Jobs!  Jobs!
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2002, 06:59:11 PM »
A degree is a degree no matter where you are, so I don't think it will be a problem with prospective employers honoring that.  I think it depends mostly on where you want to work, what kind of job and salary you're looking for and things of that nature.  Patience, it seems, is a requirement.  It took me about 2 months to find a permanent job and I found it through an agency.  Or rather, I should say it found me through an agency.  But then I'm a legal secretary and secretaries are about a dime a dozen.  

I did a lot of research and ads watching before I came over here to get a feel for what the market was like and what I could expect.  It was helpful.  

All the best and good luck!  I'm sure you'll do great!

• Garden Butterflies
  • Liked: 0
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2002, 07:26:07 PM »
Tweir,

I hear the best advantage for jobs there is to go through an agency...  and be very very patient...