Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: NI Gray Area?  (Read 1065 times)

• Love Exile
    • stoat
  • Liked: 0
NI Gray Area?
« on: April 09, 2004, 03:29:23 PM »
I'm really not sure what to do about this....

I have an Unmarried Partner visa, which gives me the same working rights as a marriage visa.  I understand that I need an NI number to work, and that my employer is supposed to give me a temporary one and then it's my job to have the interview, etc.

Here's where things get sticky.

I'm a classical musician and although I haven't yet worked in Britain, my employment is almost certainly going to be a string of short-term freelance jobs, lasting perhaps six weeks at most, with many lasting only a couple of days.  Music employers typically can't be arsed with the paperwork (which is how a lot of music students, technically forbidden from working as "entertainers" on their student visas, manage to do it anyway--but I was a very good girl and I didn't do that).

Because I had a very unusual type of student visa (music students' private-tuition exemption, it's pretty rare), all I was ever issued with was the visa stamp in my passport.  No other paperwork.   ???

I suppose I should be considered "self-employed" at this point, but I'm not starting a business, don't have anywhere near £200K to invest, and don't intend to employ anybody besides myself.  

I am just dreading having to go to some interview and explain all this to a civil servant.  I feel like a criminal even though I know I've done nothing wrong.  In fact, I'm even beginning to wonder if it wouldn't be worth it to just grit my teeth and sign up for some secretarial work through temp agencies, even though I would hate it, just to get this crap processed through in some sort of expeditious manner.