Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Legal Matters: Pre-Move to UK  (Read 1928 times)

• Liked: 0
Legal Matters: Pre-Move to UK
« on: March 19, 2008, 08:42:59 PM »
Hello,

I am an American Social Worker who is relocating to England this summer for work. As this move is likely to be permanent, I am wondering what sort of legal matters I should consider/take care of before I leave, especially anything related to my 9-month-old baby son. I am hoping that some of you might be able to offer some suggestions so that I know what to ask before I see an attorney, which I am sure will be expensive.

Many thanks!

Re: Legal Matters: Pre-Move to UK
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2008, 08:47:40 PM »
Is your son going with you? 

It will take years to get ILR or citizenship in the UK, so I am not sure you should cut all ties right away.

I found it useful to leave my US bank account open for student loans etc.

• Liked: 2
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2008, 08:49:42 PM »
Is your son's father going with you? If not, you will need to sort out custody before you can get his visa for him, or have a letter/declaration from his father saying it's ok for him to move to the UK.

« Reply #3 on: March 19, 2008, 09:05:43 PM »
My son's biological father lives in Northern Ireland, and his step-father, who is from the south of Ireland will be moving with us. I already know that I will have to appeal to the USCIS to get a passport for him, because I won;t be able to get his biological father's permission to get one. It's all very messy.

« Reply #4 on: March 19, 2008, 09:11:43 PM »
Do you have sole custody? If so you'll be ok for his visa. If not, you will need his (biological) father's permission.

« Reply #5 on: March 19, 2008, 09:17:04 PM »