Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: applying for university - advice please!  (Read 1722 times)

• my name is jonas
  • Liked: 0
applying for university - advice please!
« on: April 27, 2004, 05:09:39 PM »
Hi, I posted before in a terror about fees, but I should have worried more about GETTING into school...

I was wondering if anyone has gone to the UK for a reason other than school (for example to move with spouse, etc.) and then applied to University once you got there.

I am really nervous about going to university, but I want to more than anything.  I will be applying for an undergraduate law degree.  I've had some uni here in the states, but I don't expect nor do I want those credits to transfer.

I am now a mature student!  I am absolutely terrified that I won't get into a university and I will be stuck the rest of my life with no education!  (and staying in the US is NOT an option at the moment).

I will try to conquer the whole fees problem AFTER I conquer the whole "admission" problem.

anyone with advice, or words of comfort, anything???

:-\\\\

Thanks
Trisha
had a bit of a wobble.

• Why a duck?
Re: applying for university - advice please!
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2004, 05:47:58 PM »
Hi, Trisha!

My sister applied to unis at the age of 50 and had no trouble getting in.  She quit high school but earned her General Education Diploma.  She completed a few college courses back when she was in her 20s.  She had no trouble being accepted at 4 unis, all that she applied to.

Widening Participation is a big deal in the UK.  Unis are trying very hard to attract mature, immigrant, and first-generation students.  I worked at a Harvard graduate school, so please believe me when I tell you that admissions depends more on how many bums in seats the school wants than it does top-level qualifications. 

I hope to be a school manager or in student services at a uni after I move this summer.   Maybe our paths will cross.  Where are you thinking of applying?