Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Airport Experience - Manchester  (Read 713 times)

• My Compass Points East..
  • Liked: 0
Airport Experience - Manchester
« on: May 25, 2008, 04:28:09 PM »
Just thought I'd share my experience coming through Manchester Airport. I got in yesterday coming from Boston. I'm staying until November (5 and a half months total) to visit with my british boyfriend. I was straight forward about visiting my boyfriend and not just a "friend". I was only interviewed for maybe 5 minutes. Questions included: how long we've known each other (over a year), how we met (internet), what I did for a living, the length of all my 3 previous stays (no more than a week at a time), why my stay was longer this time, if my leave from work was paid or unpaid, if i had a letter from my employer (i didn't, lol), when my employer was expecting me back, how many times he'd come out to visit me. I got a small lecture about the 6mos/year rule, only because it might affect any future trips.

I brought a load of other paperwork (return flight itinerary, pay stub from work, bank statement, support letter from my boyfriend, an itinerary for a trip he's taking to the states right after i get back)but the IO didn't look at any of it, not even my return flight itinerary. And though the IO wasn't quite thrilled to do so, after some hemming and hawing she did stamp me in. It was probably one of the easier interviews I've had coming in, despite the fact that I could tell she clearly was not excited about letting me in, lol. She did write stuff on the back of my landing card.

My boyfriend and I tortured ourselves stressing out about if they'd let me in or not, so i'm hoping my easy experience will give some relief to anyone else coming to visit for the summer. :)

It's nice to finally be able to relax and look forward to my visit here! Yay! :D

• Mmmm...beer
    • My Blog
Re: Airport Experience - Manchester
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2008, 04:33:01 PM »