Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: spouse visa help!  (Read 572 times)

• Liked: 0
spouse visa help!
« on: June 04, 2008, 08:13:12 AM »
Hello all,
This is my first time posting and I am getting a bit confused about getting my husband a spouse visa. If someone could help and save me phoning that extortionate phone line ($12/hr  :o) I'd be very grateful.

So, our situation is that I'm a Brit and living with my husband in the US where we're both grad students. I'm finished and got a great job offer in the UK - now just got to get my husband's visa in order.

We did the on-line application, paid the $1,000. The thing is that when we came to set the interview, it chose Newark for us because that's the closest. Fine, but the earliest appointment in Newark is early July. I'm due to go to the UK for a week straight after so we won't get the documents off to New York until mid-July. We HAVE to fly by mid-August because I need to begin my job and we have children as well - my husband's going to be home with them and writing his thesis the first year. What was frustrating was that we saw that there were appointment centres with appointments next week in Philly and Hackensack (both very accessible for us) - but I couldn't go back in to select them. Is that leaving us enough time?

I also don't get where we send the documents to. So, he FIRST goes to the biometric appointment with his passport and copy of the appointment invitation. And THEN we send all the documents to NYC?

Here's the list of documents we thought to send:
1) His CV
2) My offer of employment
3) Letter from my Mum saying we can stay at hers until we sort out a rental + a COPY of her deeds
4) Translated wedding certificate (we were married abroad in a non-English speaking country) - is an official translation OK or do we need an apostille or notary?
5) Children's passports or birth certificates (or both?). One of them has a UK passport, the other one doesn't (we never got around to it) - both were born here.