Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: EEA2/Family Permit Fun  (Read 774 times)

• Liked: 0
EEA2/Family Permit Fun
« on: November 02, 2008, 11:14:13 PM »
Hi,

My lovely partner (Czech) and I (American) are currently living together in the UK. This week, he's going to upgrade his worker permit to EEA1. I'm here on a student visa which expires at the end of January. I finished my master's and am now working whilst waiting for the results (as allowed by the student visa).

We're getting married this Christmas in Prague and are now battling to understand both countries' various laws.

Basically, my concern is about getting back into the UK and getting all the relevant paperwork sorted here. We'd like to stay in the UK for a few more years, so I'll be applying for the EEA2.

Question: Do I need to apply for a family permit before entering the UK at the beginning of January, or will I be OK entering on my student visa? (We'll only be married 2.5 weeks before coming back and I doubt we'd get the family permit in time as the Prague UK Embassy says it takes '10-15 working days').

*I will be sending in the application for the EEA2 as soon as we get back, as my work wants to see confirmation that I'll still be legal to work after my student visa runs out.

We, of course, want to be as legal and stress-free as possible...

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

• Banned

• Liked: 4
Re: EEA2/Family Permit Fun
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2008, 11:27:53 PM »
As long as the student visa is still valid, and you are still studying, then you can enter on this and then apply for the EEA2.

Vicky

« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2008, 11:42:18 PM »
Hi Vicky,

Thanks for the reply.