Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Emergency need a place to stay  (Read 3561 times)

• Liked: 1
Emergency need a place to stay
« on: December 20, 2008, 10:26:45 AM »
I have to get out of the place I came to a week ago when I was already escaping an abusive situation. This one has turned to abuse also.

I begged a nearby friend to take me in but they say they don't have the room -- all I need is a couch and I begged them but they gave me the number for emergency council housing for the homeless.

I rang them. They said I "Don't qualify" !!!!

I told them I AM homeless at this point. They said that because I had not officially lived in either of the boroughs I've been staying in, and had not lived in either for very long (five months in one, one week in this one, having come from the US to the first place) I do not qualify. They won't help me.

I am a British citizen but I'm discovering that because I have been gone from the country for so long, I qualify for no help AT ALL from any of my country's entities.

I have not very few friends here but even they cannot take me in although I have urged them to understand the desperation of my situation.

Please if anyone can take me, I will need to be collected as the person who moved me recently is now on his way back up the country to his parents home for Xmas and cannot help this time.

I have my cat that I brought on PETS Scheme from America, cannot be parted from him after all this.
*Repatriated Brit undergoing culture shock with the rest of you!*

• Smiley Gifts World
Re: Emergency need a place to stay
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2008, 10:31:50 AM »
Sorry I am in the northwest so can't help but please check out this site there is a phone number on the site- they should be able to help you.
http://england.shelter.org.uk/get_advice/advice_topics/families_and_relationships/domestic_violence/leaving_domestic_violence/womens_refuges

« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2008, 11:14:39 AM »
We're very far away, too.