Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Bank accounts  (Read 2652 times)

• Liked: 0
Bank accounts
« on: January 19, 2003, 08:11:32 PM »
I'm planning to move to the UK in the fall (my cats won't be through the rabies hoops until August, at the earliest...). I make my living as a freelance writer (and I expect to qualify for a "writers, artists and composers" visa, which will allow me to freelance in the UK). From what I've been reading, I'm getting nervous about trying to establish a bank account in the UK, as it seems you need to provide all sorts of references and proof of employment just to get an account. I can certainly provide records of my US banking history as well as contracts that show my income for various freelancing gigs, but I don't have "employment" in the standard sense and therefore worry I'll be unable to get an account. And if I have trouble establishing an account, I'm not sure how I'd rent a flat...

I've been hoping I could establish an account at a bank in the US that has a UK presence, but it's not clear to me that would work, either. I contacted HSBC (or HBSC? I can't keep the letters straight!), which does have banks here in Los Angeles and London, but it appears that if I had a US-based account, only my ATM would work in the UK. I already have an ATM card that should work there, so that's not very helpful. Does anyone know if Citibank would provide UK access to a US-originated account? Or does anyone have experience trying to open an account without a "regular" job?

It's all very confusing, so this may not make any sense. But if it does, and anyone has advice, I'd appreciate it.

Thanks!
Denise

Re: Bank accounts
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2003, 11:52:36 PM »