Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: job search question  (Read 1298 times)

job search question
« on: June 16, 2004, 08:35:27 PM »
Hi all, I have a question.  I have been submitting job applications on-line and going to recruitment/temp agencies for the past few weeks.  I have heard nothing.  My CV is very good and I’ve had a lot of experience over the last 10 years as a Fundraiser.  But nothing.  Did anyone else have trouble finding a job here?  Could it be that they would choose a Brit over an American even though I have a visa and a lot of experience?  (I don’t want to think it would be just because I am American, but I did ask a friend here about it that is in HR and she said that honestly she would put a Brit above an American CV) 

It’s all just very frustrating!  I have not worked in over a year. (I moved here last year and could not work without a visa) I miss it and I’m so bored sitting here all day staring at the computer, I am willing to do about anything.    Could it also have anything to do with me not having a NIN number yet?  Is it possible to apply for one before I have a job, or do I need to wait for a job anyway?

Any help would be great.  Thanks everyone!!!!

• Philadelphia, PA to York in 2000
  • Liked: 1
Re: job search question
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2004, 08:59:00 PM »
I would suggest getting a book about how to prepare your CV.  A friend had lent me "Brilliant CV" by Jim Bright and Joanne Earl (a really helpful book, actually) recently as I was shocked at just how important your CV is in this country down to the very last detail of font size. (At least when I first started to apply for jobs with an agency, I was looking for just any admin job at all so it was easier to place me.) But now I am understanding how big a deal it is and am at a loss with how to put together a great one. It seemed so much easier in the US!  :P