Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Visitors visa and not the "norm" circumstances  (Read 953 times)

• Liked: 0
Visitors visa and not the "norm" circumstances
« on: August 06, 2009, 03:43:22 PM »
Hello everyone, this is my first time posting so please be kind ;)
I have a LOT of questions about obtaining a visitors visa ahead of time(if this is possible) versus taking your chances and just flying over and hoping the IO will let you in. I have some different circumstances that come into play as well. First, some history.
  I met my BF two Christmas' ago while living in Denver, Colorado. At that time we spent 2 weeks together followed up by another 2 weeks the following July. I then moved across country to New Hampshire to live with my mum to save money, work on her farm and be able to go visit my BF for at least 4-5 months. I did do just this in Oct. of last year. This was my first visit to the UK and while I would like to think I was prepared in hindsight I really wasn't. i did bring all my financial statements, a letter from him stating that I was staying with him and all expenses would be paid for by him (except for spending monies) and a two way plane tix. In hindsight I had quit my job in Denver so no work history or leave of absence papers, no real plans (that were in concrete anyways). The IO called my BF and because I didn't lie in the least, our stories matched and I was let in. Now..I think how lucky I was! Some things on my side were perhaps my age (I'm no 20-something) perhaps I'm my Nativity I was confident. It was REALLY hard though to get through to the IO that I understood that a four month visit was not the norm and that would not outstay my visa. As it turned out, I changed my airline tix due to the fact that I did indeed have more time and money to stay. In the end I did stay for the full 6 months.