Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: UK Student Life Guide?  (Read 1420 times)

• Liked: 0
UK Student Life Guide?
« on: July 26, 2004, 04:23:56 AM »
Hi all!

Just a quick question for everyone who has a better working knowledge of this internet thingymabob.

I have been accepted to about three different universities in the U.K. and am really trying to decide which to pick. Of course, things like the actual academic standards and how often I'll be able to pop up to York to see the love of my life will figure in to the decision, but I also am trying to find out some information beyond the dry university tables the Guardian and the Times put up.

Does anyone know of any good links (or books maybe?) That give you a good idea of student life, the degree to which the Student Union is active, whether or not all the UK-based students go home on the weekends (a big problem when I studied at York St. John) that sort of thing...you know, the stuff that those tables don't tell you.

Anyone who can help...well, I'll be eternally grateful.
American lives have no second acts.

-Fitzgerald

• Liked: 8
Re: UK Student Life Guide?
« Reply #1 on: July 26, 2004, 08:31:19 AM »
http://www.hero.ac.uk/universities_and_colleges/england.cfm will give you brief links to the campuses and most include a link to info about the student unions....

(Honey, look!  I'm plugging the site!)   ;D

« Last Edit: July 26, 2004, 08:33:22 AM by lolabola »

• Officially a Brit.
  • Liked: 2
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2004, 11:06:01 AM »
Didn't I see on another of your posts that you are doing an MA? If so, you'll find that postgrad life is a bit different than undergrad life. Do you mind if I ask how old you are? This will also make a difference. As you may have seen, UK undergrads are younger than US ones.