Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: British 10K London Run this morning  (Read 2295 times)

• Fehr Trade
  • Liked: 1
British 10K London Run this morning
« on: July 11, 2010, 04:38:49 PM »
(I guess this is the right forum for this?) Anyone else run this race this morning?

Last Thursday was my one year anniversary of my bone marrow transplant, and I've been planning a special celebration of my own for about six months now, when I got it into my head that I should run a 10k to mark the occasion.

This morning was the British 10K London Run and even though I've been running around the river for the past 3-4 months to train for this, I had only managed 10km in my last three runs so I was feeling pretty nervous and hoping only to run the whole thing (no walking!) and to maybe finish in under an hour.

I had a fantastic run, and though it was a definite slog at times, the memory of three friends who died last year despite their transplants really kept me going (I wrote their names on my hand to motivate me). I couldn’t believe it when I saw the clock at the finish line – 54:22!! And now the official chip timings are released, and it's come down to 53:48!!  :o I know a lot of the other runners made a point to pat me on the back and say "well done" when they saw my "one year post transplant" written on my back, which really helped, too.

You can see more photos (including the names on my hand) in this gallery and if you'd like to donate, my sponsorship page will be open for a while longer. Though signing up to the bone marrow registry is totally free and I swear to you that it's NOT the painful ordeal it used to be a few years ago and it's not the same registry as general organ donation. Please take a minute look into it, okay? :)

Thank you again to the many people on here who have encouraged and supported me over the past 18 months, and I hope my race today has inspired others.
Summer 97 - first visited friends in London
99-00 - studied at Uni of Sussex on exchange