Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Leaving a Gratuity?  (Read 4965 times)

• Jennifer Knits
  • Liked: 1
Leaving a Gratuity?
« on: August 26, 2010, 04:53:54 PM »
As an American I was raised to tip for certain services - hair dressers, taxi drivers, wait staff/bartenders, et cetera - and now in the UK I'm a little unclear on who and how much one should tip. I know it's not a gratuity-based economy, that employees are (hopefully?) paid a living wage but my BF implied it's becoming more common but there's no standard.

What do you guys think? Do you leave tips? Under what circumstances? How much?

• These pretzels are making me thirsty.
  • Liked: 0
Re: Leaving a Gratuity?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2010, 05:02:34 PM »
I'm dying to know a great & detailed answer to this!

Years ago, I worked as a bartender. I lived off my tips and because of that, I am a generous "tipper". However, in the UK I realize this is not the same practice. But when my husband and I go out to eat, that's where things get weird. I want to leave a tip, but he claims "you don't have to". That's too unclear for me. You don't have to or you just don't do it? I can't expect him to feel the need to tip as I do so I feel like he's not the best person to ask... bless him :)

I nearly tipped a bartender in the UK and he said something similar "you don't have to, but you can if you'd like". So I did! Only to have him chase me down to give me my change... which confused me even more.
"It's useful being top banana in the shock department."

• Liked: 3598
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2010, 05:06:17 PM »
There have been a few threads regarding the subject of tipping in the UK (although I haven't got time to find them right now). It's not really customary to tip in the UK, at least not like it is in the US. In general though, who to tip and how much is an individual thing and so it's different for different people.

I'm a Brit and I tip the following: