Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: "TRAVEL TO US DRAMA" FOR SCOTTISH COUPLE! OY VEY!!!!!!  (Read 678 times)

• Banned

• Writer, married, semi-employed, and sorta happy...
  • Liked: 4
"TRAVEL TO US DRAMA" FOR SCOTTISH COUPLE! OY VEY!!!!!!
« on: June 24, 2011, 09:25:50 AM »
http://news.travel.aol.com/2011/06/23/expired-visa-mixup-lands-british-couple-in-american-jail-called/?ncid=edlinkusaolp00000008

"A U.S. vacation turned into a nightmare for one Scottish couple who spent five weeks in an American jail due to confusion over their visas."

America, and Texas for sure, are really getting overly strict.
“It was when I realised I had a new nationality: I was in exile. I am an adulterous resident: when I am in one city, I am dreaming of the other. I am an exile; citizen of the country of longing.” ― Suketu Mehta.

Married 04/13/11, in NYC.
Applied for Spouse Visa the following week, with express service, and I was approved 4 days later!
Arrived in the UK 05/20/11.
I took the stupid LIUK Test Oct. 2012.
We were granted ILR In Person in Croydon on 04/23/13.
Got BRP 2 days later, in mail box - it just appeared.

NEXT: The lil' red passpo

Border hoppers get caught
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2011, 11:29:29 AM »
It sounds like they were trying to do the American version of the British channel hop and got caught.  It would have happened to American tourists here, although I am not sure they would be detained for weeks. 

What were they doing at the Mexican border after crossing at Canada? Why were they detained? Is that normal, or were they trying to fight deportation?  I think there is more here than is being said.  Imagine how fishy it would look if someone entered the EU on an expired tourist visa and were caught by some country's border on the opposite side of the continent?