Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: British Workers and their Tea Breaks  (Read 7820 times)

• Liked: 0
British Workers and their Tea Breaks
« on: October 12, 2012, 01:21:15 PM »
First, I have had some wonderful experiences in the UK.  The folks at the library here are great and I have joined a few of their groups.  The people at my storage facility are FABULOUS, they moved my stuff from one expensive big unit that the movers moved my stuff into to another smaller unit that was cheaper.  They moved the stuff for free and carefully packed it so it would fit in the smallest unit they could and gave me 10% off too. So yes, some good experiences...

Having said that.  The two times we have had men do physical labor for us they have been the laziest I have ever seen.  The movers that were hired here and the council flat workers that came in to do some stupid repairs on the flat (required things not something we asked for) complained after barely getting started that they would need a tea break.  Now I am not talking complaining after a few hours, I am talking after 30 minutes of beginning work saying, "Oh I need a tea break." Then taking 20 minutes to kick back and drink MY tea.  Then a few more minutes of work and again another tea break.  I couldn't believe it.  In the 45 minutes they took to empty my container the movers took THREE tea breaks.  The men that came to install sheetrock on the ceilings in the closets needed 2 breaks in their 2 hours of work (they arrived first thing in the morning so it wasn't like they were working all day either) and they left midway and came back hours later to finish up.  I have no idea how they get away with this kind of attitude if they are getting paid by the hour.