Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: EEA vs EEA2 permit  (Read 440 times)

EEA vs EEA2 permit
« on: January 21, 2014, 09:03:11 PM »
Hi all. I am an American citizen who is marrying my Portuguese fiance in Denmark in May. After that, however, I am stuck on what to do. I was going to go back to the US and apply for my EEA permit, but my fiance suggested instead coming straight to the UK with him after the wedding, staying there as a tourist, and applying for the EEA2 residence card from there. This saves me a plane ticket and time, although I cannot work in that time (which may take six months). He can support me though. Is that legal? I have great immigration history, as I used to be a student there, and all I am gonna do there is wait till my application is processed.

• Liked: 56
Re: EEA vs EEA2 permit
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2014, 11:46:18 AM »
There are a few avenues here.

Where are you currently resident  - in DK?  You could apply for the permit from Denmark and eliminate the extra trip to the US.  The EEA FP (the first step) just has to be applied for outside the UK.  It usually doesn't take more than a week or two (depending on which country you are in), and if you apply after marriage and can show a lasting relationship (living together before marriage or other connection like bank accounts or whatever) there should be no problem.

The EEA2 application for the residence card is done after entry to the UK.  If you get the FP before you enter then you are legally allowed to work.  If your husband is working (exercising treaty rights), then it is a straightforward application for the residence card that gives you 5 years in the UK.  I don't know if you can apply after entering as a tourist - but there is no reason to even do that if you can get the FP in a week and have the legal right to live and work in the UK for 6 months while the EEA2 is processing.