Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Greencard for spouse  (Read 2208 times)

• Tomorrow is a new day....
  • Liked: 0
Greencard for spouse
« on: January 15, 2015, 07:07:34 PM »
Hi all,

I feel like I am on a boat floating around and not know what's going to happen a year from now, things are always changing, one minute life seems fine and then next it's just back in a dark hole....

Got a question on greencard and can't seem to find the info on the US site.

Thinking of the possibility of moving back to US for a few years...

If my OH apply for a greencard, would he be able to leave US on short trips or would it be a problem for him when if he plans to apply for citizenship? 

How long does the greencard process usually take? 

Do I need to show financial proof?   Can a family be a financial sponsor?  How does it work??

Thanks thanks!!  =)
=)

• Liked: 1
Re: Greencard for spouse
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2015, 04:38:54 PM »
To start, I’m not an expert. All the information you need can be found here (and on others pages at www.uscis.gov):

http://www.uscis.gov/green-card/green-card-processes-and-procedures/consular-processing

http://www.uscis.gov/family/family-us-citizens/spouse/bringing-spouses-live-united-states-permanent-residents

And I strongly suggest you do your own research.

I assume you are your partner live in the UK? If so, the process is different than applying from within the US. 

1. To start the green card process outside the US, i.e. Consular processing, the U.S. citizen partner files an I-130 Petition for Alien Relative with United States Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS). The filing fee is $420.

See instructions for list of documents you must provide and where to submit the application here: http://www.uscis.gov/i-130