Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Need advice on UK Visas  (Read 415 times)

• Liked: 0
Need advice on UK Visas
« on: September 23, 2016, 01:48:10 PM »
Forgive me for the long post but this is my first time on a forum and I wanted to give as much detail as possible in order to get the best answer. I have rang a Visa Information company but the guy on the phone sounded miserable and honestly wasn't very helpful so hopefully you guys can give me the information I need.

Basically I met my girlfriend (US Citizen) over 3 years ago and we've been dating for 2 years now. I'm a UK citizen, and we met when she was studying abroad for 5 months, I was her neighbour. After the 5 months we were in a long distance relationship for a while, with her coming to the UK to see me, before I went to the US to see her.

In September 2015 we both started a working holiday visa in Australia, and decided not to live together as we didn't want to rush in to things (we regret this massively now). We lived in Melbourne for 7 months before travelling for 2 and then living and working together in rural Queensland for 3 months. However there is no record of us actually living together as we paid cash at our place in rural Queensland, because it's all a bit dodgy out there and I was obtaining the 88 days work needed for a second year Australian Visa, while we saved up to travel elsewhere.

I have since had to come back to the UK due to a friends death, and so thought I'd try and research visas so we can look at living together permanently. As she is a US citizen she is not eligible for a second year visa in Australia, and so we plan to go to New Zealand and live and work there for up to 9 months before travelling South East Asia.

While looking at Visa options for her to come and live and work in the UK (as it seems much easier than me going and living in the US), I have discovered two options:

Either we get a Fiance visa and get married within 6 months of being in the UK

OR