Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Oh, jolly.... driving stuff  (Read 1718 times)

• Liked: 674
Oh, jolly.... driving stuff
« on: January 19, 2017, 10:13:15 AM »
Ok. So, I'm prepared to not have/drive a car. I'm good with that - I've been driving since 1970 and did a LOT of long haul driving and I've survived driving in LA at rush hour. When it was raining (a whole new level of hell). On a Friday Night Before a Holiday. (Cue the brimstone.)  I'm going to live in a place that basically has the kind of public transportation I need to manage with minimal discomfort/inconvenience. And I LIKE walking places. And jeez, cabs are cheap there compared to where we are now!  I have visited the UK several times and rented a car, and was white-knuckled most of the time until I could find a proper motorway and relax. (There's just nothing like coming around a curve to find a cow, sheep, or ancient stone building [Wales?] in the road to get the adrenaline pumping.) Besides, I'm getting older. My reflexes are slowing, and I don't even want to drive here at home anymore if I can manage to get someone else to do it. It's just not as fun as it used to be. I guess after 45-ish years the novelty has finally worn off.   8)

The kiddo, however, is going to be just starting out in her career, once finished with her degree. I am thinking she's going to be limiting her opportunities if she can't legally drive there. As it is, when she was studying there a couple of years ago she went on several trips with her school where a staff member had to drive them in a uni vehicle. So if she's planning to go into academia, she may need to be able to do the same. Or to get to whatever job it is she finally can find. I mean, it's entirely possible that she won't be able to find housing near her work. She is saying she "won't need a car" and that "getting a license there is hideously expensive." So I'm having a "hmmmmmm" moment.