Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Opinions on Free Birth?  (Read 1224 times)

• Liked: 1892
Opinions on Free Birth?
« on: May 02, 2017, 01:10:05 PM »

I read this article:

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/2017/apr/28/experience-i-had-a-free-birth

I have to say I had a pretty negative view of that lady's birth.  I am a big believer in general of letting people do what they want, until it impacts other people.  This lady's funny ideas could have impacted the baby's quality of life for ever, with no real justification.  She could have impacted the NHS and by extension all of us if something simple that would be fine if addressed earlier turned into a giant expensive nightmare. 

I'm no doctor, but I don't think a woman's body "tells her" if there are problems and avoiding scans because of that is pure stupidity.

What do you guys think?

• Liked: 41
Re: Opinions on Free Birth?
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2017, 03:16:17 PM »
I read the first paragraph of her article and that was enough pseudoscience, yoga BS for me to stop. Absolutely right to allow people to do what they want but only if we don't have to foot the bill and the life of an innocent child isn't compromised because of well, go see my previously used adjectives!

UKC married to USC 2012.
USC is on FLR(M) - 1 year to go to ILR

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

• Liked: 957
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2017, 04:00:02 PM »
Just wow ... I think this woman was incredibly lucky there were no problems. There's a reason for pre-natal care and checkups, it improves both maternal and infant mortality rates around the globe... This is just nonsense and honestly dangerous for them to be publishing in the era of antivaxxers etc.

• Liked: 1892
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2017, 04:15:00 PM »