Hello
Guest

Sponsored Links


Topic: Computer and Monitor power cords...  (Read 1577 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

  • *
  • Posts: 5184

  • Liked: 566
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Computer and Monitor power cords...
« on: July 19, 2017, 02:58:04 PM »
Ok, I've got an older Dell Inspiron 620S PC.  On the back there's a switch for 115 or 230 power.  I have flipped it to 230, on the assumption that the fact that the switch is there means the machine will run on UK mains power. (No, nothing in the documentation for it.)  Rather than trying to find an adaptor plug to connect the USA power cord to UK mains, I think I want to find a replacement UK power cord.  Going to the Dell website and chat has not been productive. Amazon comes up with laptop cords - obviously I'm not wording the query correctly for the UK search engine.  Any idea where I can get a UK power cord for that PC?

I have an ASUS LCD monitor.  It says on the back it will run 115-220. There are no switches. The power cord has a USA plug. When I got to the ASUS helpline they said they couldn't say if it would work on UK mains or not, to take it to "a specialist store" to ask. (!!!!)  Same question - any idea where I can get a power cord for it that will fit UK mains? (Assuming that is doable.)

Thanks.


  • *
  • Posts: 201

  • Liked: 59
  • Joined: May 2017
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2017, 03:02:08 PM »
You need something like this, I assume - it's a standard computer power cable:


You should be correct about the voltages being fine. I haven't had to do it yet myself (my desktop computer is in storage with the rest of my stuff) but that is the theory. If you're particularly worried about it, you can get the model number off the power supply for the computer and the monitor model number and look it up.

The monitor is probably ok without any sort of converter, just a new cable (I assume it has one that can be removed like most monitors, but it may be a built-in one, in which case you'll need a plug adapter). However, I'd suggest you get the model number off of it and double-check, just in case.


  • *
  • Posts: 5184

  • Liked: 566
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2017, 03:10:19 PM »
Hi - That's part of the problem. I've contacted both Dell and ASUS with the model (and even the serial numbers) and gotten nowhere. I've googled the computer and monitor numbers, no luck. I'll try to find a power supply number, maybe that will be better luck. 

That does indeed look like the correct cord for the PC, thanks!



  • *
  • Posts: 201

  • Liked: 59
  • Joined: May 2017
  • Location: Glasgow
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2017, 03:11:29 PM »
If you can put the model numbers here, I can have a poke around. It'll be good practice for when I get back into the workforce  ;D

You may be able to get the model information off the back of the power supply, depending on which Dell case it is. If not, you'll need to open the computer and look on the actual supply itself.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2017, 03:12:39 PM by brenzie »


  • *
  • Posts: 6405

  • Liked: 1801
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2017, 03:52:32 PM »
That cord is totally standard, Ive got about 10 sitting around my house.  You might find one at a hardware store or bits and bobs shop. 

I'll back up what Brenzie said, both your computer and monitor should be fine.  The monitor sounds like it switches automatically .  Stand well back the first time you switch it on.


  • *
  • Posts: 5184

  • Liked: 566
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #5 on: July 20, 2017, 09:40:24 AM »
Hah, thanks. Just what I need, a mushroom cloud over my desk....

The monitor is ASUS VS248H-P. Says on the back 100-240v 50/60Hz, 1 A
Manufactured 2013

 The best I can find online as far as info is this
https://www.cnet.com/products/asus-vs248h-p/specs/

Lifted too many packing boxes (our sea crates arrived on Sunday and am now hip-deep in boxes/packing paper) and haven't gotten down to floor level to open the Dell Inspiron 620S to look at the power supply yet. (My back is really killing me.)

If all goes well, late this afternoon I'll take a bus over to Maplin with both cords and see what they can sell me. Hopefully for not a terribly large amount of money.
« Last Edit: July 20, 2017, 09:58:51 AM by Nan D. »


  • *
  • Posts: 2898

  • Liked: 163
  • Joined: Feb 2007
  • Location: Biggleswade
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2017, 10:24:43 AM »
Says on the back 100-240v 50/60Hz

I have the same thing written on the power supply of my US HP laptop, and after switching out the plug part it works fine in the UK. I think you're good to go, and Maplin ought to have a cord that fits.


  • *
  • Posts: 1260

  • Liked: 62
  • Joined: Jun 2011
  • Location: Congleton, Cheshire
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2017, 01:20:40 PM »
I've switched cords out in both the US and the UK - cheap cords are available literally everywhere. A cord is all you need.
Married December 1992 (my 'old flame' whom I first met in the mid-70s)
1st move to UK - 1993 (Letter of Consent granted at British Embassy in Washington DC)
ILR - 1994 (1 year later - no fee way back then!)
Back to US in 2000
Returned to UK July 2011 (Spousal Visa/KOL endorsement)
ILR - September 2011
Application for naturalization submitted July 2014
Approval received 15-10-14; ceremony scheduled for 10 November!
Passport arrived 25 November 2014. Finally done!


  • *
  • Posts: 5184

  • Liked: 566
  • Joined: Sep 2015
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #8 on: July 22, 2017, 08:41:31 AM »
Interestingly, it will not work with the new power cord. I get an amber light momentarily on the start button, which is Dell Inspiron 620s code for "problem with power supply," apparently.

I bought an identical cord and it's working fine for the monitor. Not wanting to mess around with unplugging the working cord from the monitor to plug it into the computer (too much bending under the desk for my bad back) I got the power adapter plug off my smaller travel adapter and put it on the original cord, plugged it into the mains, and it works just fine. So, I need to return a non-working cord to Maplin, I guess later today. Assuming they'll take it back.


  • *
  • Posts: 601

  • Liked: 35
  • Joined: Jul 2009
  • Location: Northern Engand
Re: Computer and Monitor power cords...
« Reply #9 on: July 23, 2017, 10:40:19 AM »
So, I need to return a non-working cord to Maplin, I guess later today. Assuming they'll take it back.

They have to by law: http://www.which.co.uk/consumer-rights/regulation/consumer-rights-act. Best to always know your legal rights, even if you hopefully don't need them.


Sponsored Links