Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: US resident buying/registering UK vehicle  (Read 3981 times)

• Liked: 3
US resident buying/registering UK vehicle
« on: February 06, 2018, 03:49:43 AM »
I’m a US resident and I visit the UK annually on holiday for a period of about 3 weeks, split between Scotland and England. As such I end up doing 2 car rentals each trip.

Instead of this I’d like to buy, register, MOT my own vehicle. I can easily have it kept at the residence of a friend.

If I am correctly informed all of that is legal. The question becomes finding insurance. I’ve found companies that provide non-resident coverage for such purposes but typically only for EU/EEC or Commonwealth residents.

Anyone know if US residents can get non-resident auto insurance and if so, where?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: February 06, 2018, 04:31:53 AM by Macman53 »

• Liked: 163
Re: US resident buying/registering UK vehicle
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2018, 06:49:01 AM »
I'd check with USAA. I don't know that they definitely will do it, but they're used to insuring people around the world, so they're not a bad bet.

• Liked: 4985
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2018, 08:57:14 AM »
It's legal but wouldn't be worth it.  Insurance will be hundreds of pounds a year.  And you'll end up spending an entire day of one of your days holidays having the vehicle serviced and the MOT.  And cars really need to be driven.  If it sits there for 11 months of the year, it's going to need some serious TLC each year.

Just my 2p.  :)

• Liked: 6110
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2018, 09:37:28 AM »
I agree with KFdancer, it’s not going to be cheaper nor is it going to be more convenient.

• Liked: 1891
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2018, 11:24:54 AM »
Perhaps you could pay towards the expenses of your friend's car and borrow that when you visit?  They could add you to the insurance.