Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Hey everyone I am new! Am I realistic to want to move and work in the UK?  (Read 1974 times)

• Liked: 0
Hello everyone! My name is Amanda. I am currently studying abroad in Wales. I love it here. The culture, way of life, politics, etc. I am currently studying International Relations. I would really love to be able to live and work in the UK. My career goals are to come back to the UK after I graduate college in 2019. I may take on an internship and work a min. wage job for a year after so I can collect enough money to live on. I am not concerned about costs of education as I have a $160,000+ inheritance which will go to the fees of a Masters and PHD in the UK. I want to be a lecturer in the uk in British politics , security, studies, or Intl. relations. I also wanna do research. I am a hard worker and I worked my butt of for 2 years to be able to be in this country right now. And I will do whatever it takes in order for me to do it again.

My mother doesnt like that I may do this. She is judgmental and has never left North America, hell shes lived in a 20 mile bubble her entire life. I already know my career goals will take me thousands of miles away from home, and maybe to the UK. I am not "UK or bust". I can work in America if I have to. but my mom always makes me feel guilty and emotionally blackmails me so it is difficult. I looked up that people with a PHD can be sponsored in the UK, and most UK unis are able to sponsor tier 2 visas. So,are s my goals realistic?

• Liked: 6110
Re: Hey everyone I am new! Am I realistic to want to move and work in the UK?
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2018, 04:06:03 PM »
Hi Amanda! Those are great goals, it won’t be easy to reach them but it sounds like you’re not afraid of hard work plus you have the financial means, so I think you stand a really good chance.  :)

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2018, 04:09:03 PM »