Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Starting the process!  (Read 1612 times)

• Liked: 0
Starting the process!
« on: February 16, 2018, 12:49:38 PM »
Hi everyone!  I'm just now starting the process of looking into moving overseas, and I'm very excited.  I won't ask any questions yet, as there's a ton of info here that I need to read through first, but I wanted to get the ball rolling.  I'm currently 35 and from the Midwest, but have been in love with English culture and history for 20 years.  I'm hoping I can make the move a reality (although getting a job will be the hardest part).

I work in IT currently (general tech support, mostly) but I'm not specialized in anything.  Upping my skills will be important.  So will paying down medical debt.

I studied in China for 4 months when I was 19 so I have a little bit of experience with culture shock, homesickness, etc. but I know nothing can really prepare me.  However, my best schoolmate ended up moving to London with a man she met and later married, and she loves it.

Currently I'm planning my first holiday to the UK for later this year, to check things out and see how I really like it in person.

So anyway, hello!

• Liked: 6110
Re: Starting the process!
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 01:27:29 PM »
Hi everyone!  I'm just now starting the process of looking into moving overseas, and I'm very excited.  I won't ask any questions yet, as there's a ton of info here that I need to read through first, but I wanted to get the ball rolling.  I'm currently 35 and from the Midwest, but have been in love with English culture and history for 20 years.  I'm hoping I can make the move a reality (although getting a job will be the hardest part).

I work in IT currently (general tech support, mostly) but I'm not specialized in anything.  Upping my skills will be important.  So will paying down medical debt.