Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Proof of Intent to Marry / We Messed Up  (Read 1085 times)

• Liked: 0
Proof of Intent to Marry / We Messed Up
« on: May 17, 2018, 01:19:52 PM »
Hi there!

Had somewhat of a disaster when trying to come up with proof of intent to marry in preparation for a Fiance Visa application.

I called the local registration office to see about the process for getting married and they told me I should give notice of marriage before booking the venue (which is going to be a civil ceremony in the local registration office premises). I explained to them that I'm a local resident and I'm intending to marry a U.S. citizen that was here on a Visitor Visa but we're planning on getting the Fiance Visa for her to come back for the wedding; they told me to call the main office for our region which is the one in Blackburn since the process is different.

Called up the Blackburn office and explained that my intended Bride-to-be was here on a Visitor Visa and due to go back to the U.S. within the next couple of weeks and that I'd been told we should give notice of marriage before booking the venue. I asked them if we're fine to give notice on the Visitor Visa and they said yes but that we'd need to give some extra evidence during the interview which they booked in.

We attended the appointment and gave notice of marriage which all seemed fine but was told that it would have to be referred to the Home Office and we'd hear back in the next 28 days (nothing so far). This rang a few alarm bells for me and I started looking into the Immigration laws for notice of marriage and have since realised that we messed up and had inadvertently broken the terms of the Visa...  :(

Bit annoyed that the Registration Office didn't warn us about this or seem to know but do see that it's our own fault for not double checking first.

My Girlfriend is back in the U.S. now and we're looking to apply for the Fiancé Visa to get married around October or November.