Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Visiting UK for 2 months. What to expect from Immigration??  (Read 4271 times)

This is my first time on the boards so I wanted to first say hi!! :)

I will be going to the UK soon to visit my boyfriend (and sight-see) for 2 months. While I have no intention of staying longer than that, I've been hearing horror stories of those who have been denied entry. With that said, I want to make sure I am prepared as possible and do this right! What kind of questioning have you guys faced?

I'm concerned about 2 things:

1. The word "boyfriend". Half of the advice I have been given is to only use the word "friend". Obviously the other half have said to come out with "boyfriend". What have you guys done and what have been your experiences with this?

2. Even though I will have a valid return ticket home that I will absolutely use, I have no idea how to provide evidence of ties to home. I am a remote worker for a US based company, so I have no physical work place to go back to (and yes, I know I cannot work while in the UK). I will be staying with my parents when I return because I will have moved out of my apartment (so no rental agreement). I do have family at home, but am not sure how that would help??

We are pretty confident we want to get married, as we have already spent some time together (we met almost a year ago when he was here in the US). But these two months are to solidify those feelings before rushing into marriage. When I get back home, we will decide if he comes here to get married or if I start the fiance visa process. (We had talked about me going back to the UK after I've been home for 2 months or so, but I'm a bit terrified of immigration at that point!)

I just don't want to throw any red flags up at immigration as I know I am doing nothing illegal. These are the documents I will have with me when going through immigration:

- Valid US passport (obviously)
- His address and phone number (as I will be staying with him)