Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Exploring VISAS/citizenship  (Read 715 times)

• Liked: 29
Exploring VISAS/citizenship
« on: June 22, 2018, 01:29:57 AM »
Hi! I’m a newbie here...my husband was born in the UK, his dad and his dad’s whole family are british. My husband’s mom is American. My husband has a British birth certificate and an American (born abroad) one as well. He has lived in the US the majority of his life and has always traveled under a US passport. He does not have a British passport.

Here are my questions.
1. If he has a British birth certificate is he eligible to get a british passport?

2. If he had a British passport would we be able to relocate from the us to uk without worrying about visas??

3. Can he have both a US and British passport?
« Last Edit: June 22, 2018, 01:42:05 AM by Amber07 »

• Liked: 113
Re: Exploring VISAS/citizenship
« Reply #1 on: June 22, 2018, 01:49:23 AM »
Hi! I’m a newbie here...my husband was born in the UK, his dad and his dad’s whole family are british. My husband’s mom is American. My husband has a British birth certificate and an American (born abroad) one as well. He has lived in the US the majority of his life and has always traveled under a US passport. He does not have a British passport.

Here are my questions.
1. If he has a British birth certificate is he eligible to get a british passport?

2. If he had a British passport would we be able to relocate from the us to uk without worrying about visas??

3. Can he have both a US and British passport?

1. I believe it depends on what year your husband was born and whether his parents were married at that time.

2. If your husband can claim British citizenship then he can move to the UK without any visa. You, on the other hand, need to apply for a spouse visa.

3. Yes.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
#1 NON-PRIORITY UNMARRIED PARTNER
Living together since Nov 2014, son born on Mar 2016
Decision: Refusal (70 BD)
#2 PRIORITY SPOUSE
Online Application: 18 Mar 2018