Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Freelancing on a spouse visa?  (Read 1761 times)

Freelancing on a spouse visa?
« on: November 01, 2018, 08:28:52 PM »
I'm a freelance content writer and was just told to watch out when it comes to freelancing in the UK. They said it's illegal on several visas. Surely this isn't true when it comes to the spouse visa? I'm not in the UK yet but want to make sure I'm ok to work once I get my visa and move!

• Liked: 6110
Re: Freelancing on a spouse visa?
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2018, 08:43:11 PM »
I'm a freelance content writer and was just told to watch out when it comes to freelancing in the UK. They said it's illegal on several visas. Surely this isn't true when it comes to the spouse visa? I'm not in the UK yet but want to make sure I'm ok to work once I get my visa and move!

That's not a problem from the point of view of being on a spouse visa but you're going to want to look into the tax implications in both countries.

• Liked: 3595
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2018, 08:45:18 PM »
Once you have a spousal visa, you are free to work in any job you like with no restrictions.

However, you would likely need to work out the tax implications of freelancing in the UK, in regards to things like filing U.K. taxes, registering as self-employed etc (I don’t know the ins and outs of that though).

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

« Reply #3 on: November 01, 2018, 08:47:55 PM »
That's not a problem from the point of view of being on a spouse visa but you're going to want to look into the tax implications in both countries.

Good to know!!

Do you know where I can find a good resource about the tax implications of freelancing? I'd like to have an idea of what I'm getting myself into.

• Liked: 163
« Reply #4 on: November 01, 2018, 09:24:56 PM »
Do you know where I can find a good resource about the tax implications of freelancing? I'd like to have an idea of what I'm getting myself into.