Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Hargreaves Landsdown force SIPP closure  (Read 2633 times)

• Liked: 12
Hargreaves Landsdown force SIPP closure
« on: December 16, 2018, 04:02:52 PM »
I am a US resident - and have had a SIPP from Hargreaves Landsdown for 20 years or so. They increasingly cracked down on US residents - first they wouldn't let me add to my SIPP after I moved to the US (AJ Bell SippDeal do), then they stopped me using their currency exchange service, and the latest is they require me to liquidate and close my account and have given me 60 days to do it. It's a SIPP so you could imagine the tax consequences...fortunately I can transfer it to AJ Bell in specie. Anyone else with this issue I suggest you go with AJ Bell / YouInvest. They also allow an automatic monthly withdrawal (UPSCL or something - HL require a form each month) and allow structured products (HL do not).

A

• Liked: 8
Re: Hargreaves Landsdown force SIPP closure
« Reply #1 on: December 17, 2018, 03:48:21 PM »
A few years ago now, as a dual US/UK citizen resident in the USA, I consolidated my HL SIPP and two (relatively small) private pensions into one AJ Bell SIPP. The transfer was smooth and I saved substantially on fees. I agree with the comments re HL. AJ Bell have been excellent.

• Liked: 0
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2019, 05:53:35 AM »
I got a similar letter from Hargreaves Lansdown but it said that as I have become a US resident, I need to sell OEICs and unit trusts (UK terms for what are basically mutual funds as far as I know) within 60 days. I called and they said it was OK to buy ETFs instead, so I'm swapping my funds for ETFs. I thought about switching to AJ Bell but their website seems a little clunky and service seems awkward. MyExpatSIPP is another option, but they seem new and a little small.

For now I'm going to stay with HL, but I'm curious if anyone has had more trouble using HL while living in the US.