Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Feeling very run down.  (Read 1861 times)

• Liked: 78
Feeling very run down.
« on: January 05, 2019, 10:39:55 PM »
Hey guys,

Just reaching out because I need a little bit of encouragement and support.

I'm feeling so sad and exhausted with the low wages over here. Paired with high cost of living, we are literally always broke. I know it's probably not true, but it just seems like everyone around us is doing so much better while we are scraping by.

It took me almost a year to get decent employment (I have a Master's in Library Science which coincidentally doesn't mean sh*t over here). It was only 19 hours, but it was something. With transportation costs, I was only bringing in £550? Crazy low. I finally was able to score a job in our town that's 32 hours and I thought it was going to make this huge difference, but nope. We still only have about £400 after paying bills and all that.

I guess it just makes me sad, I thought I was going to be able to afford to go home more, or travel around Europe, or even go into London which is only about 25 mins away by train! We have to choose between saving and enjoying life and it's really just ground me down.

I don't know, I just needed to air that disappointment. I don't know if things would've been better in the States, but at least it wouldn't be as cold and grey as it is here.

Hope everyone else's New Year is going great!! Sorry to be a downer!
California, USA

Relationship started: October 2014
Engaged: September 2016
Married: December 23, 2016
Priority visa application: March 31, 2017
Biometrics: April 13, 2017
Document confirmation: April 18, 2017
Decision email: June 2, 2017
Outcome: Approved!

• Liked: 957
Re: Feeling very run down.
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 11:12:50 AM »
You are not alone in your struggle. *hugs* The culture here is to never talk about problems (in England, not on this forum) so it's very hard to actually know what anyone else is dealing with.