Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Moneyfarm for SIPP?  (Read 1911 times)

• Liked: 2
Moneyfarm for SIPP?
« on: January 06, 2019, 05:08:14 PM »
Hey everyone,

Following up on my recent post about planning for retirement while self-employed I wanted to ask if anyone here has heard or dealt with Moneyfarm for their SIPP. They seem to be FATCA compliant, but only accept investments under their specific portfolios. My question is - wouldn't this mean they're classed as PFIC?

Thought I'd ask since a forum Search on them didn't bring anything up!

I'm still an absolute newbie, so all opinions are welcome!

https://www.moneyfarm.com/uk/ [nofollow]

• Liked: 102
Re: Moneyfarm for SIPP?
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 05:28:48 PM »
Will they prepare and file Form 3520-A for the trust each year?

« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 08:59:00 PM »
Will they prepare and file Form 3520-A for the trust each year?

Hey Guys! I'm so sorry, but I've only just this week started researching retirement options and I've never heard of that form. What are the implications? Do I want them to prepare and file it for me? Is the form required for PFICs? Thanks for your insight!

« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 08:05:29 AM »
Hey Guys! I'm so sorry, but I've only just this week started researching retirement options and I've never heard of that form. What are the implications? Do I want them to prepare and file it for me? Is the form required for PFICs? Thanks for your insight!
No - it the form prepared annually for a foreign grantor trust. You would separately file a 3520 each year. 

« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2019, 01:15:56 PM »
No - it the form prepared annually for a foreign grantor trust. You would separately file a 3520 each year.

Thank you! I've arranged a chat with one of their pension advisers, so will report back with what they tell me.

• Liked: 719
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2019, 04:58:35 PM »