Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: I wonder if it's possible?  (Read 3601 times)

• Liked: 674
I wonder if it's possible?
« on: January 24, 2019, 06:28:55 PM »
Ok. So, I haven't been "in education" (although I worked in academia) since 1995. I'm retired. I have time on my hands. I had to drop out before I got my PhD (15 hours - 3 classes - and a dissertation short of finishing) because I simply couldn't raise a kid on my own, work part time, and carry a full load of PhD studies (which are a hella harder than undergrad classes were - the reading alone was a killer!). There just were not enough hours in the day, and it turned out I was in the wrong program for what I really wanted to do. (Bad advising and poverty kind of shoehorned me into that.)

So. I'm retired. I'm old - geriatric, by student standards. I have some disposable income, but a lot of it is already earmarked for the Daughter's future tuition and fees. I have lots of time on my hands. I miss doing research, and I love writing. I was good at both, back in the day.  I'm considering trying to go back for a new post-grad degree. I'll never "use" it, as such, but I might be able to produce some worthwhile research. And it would keep my brain from rusting to a standstill. I have only just started exploring my options, but I thought I'd toss it out there and see if anyone knows if there are any funding programs for older adults? We're talking higher ed here, not further ed.

I couldn't start this year, of course, due to my lack of residency. But when that date passed, it might be nice to be able to go back to school again. Then again, I'll have no academic references - they're all dead of being older than I am. I wonder if there would be a way around that? What reputable institution would admit a student who hasn't been in school in twenty-five years, without references? I don't have any of my old research papers, nothing but transcripts of work completed.

Am I just dreaming, here?

• Liked: 6110