Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Adding my (USC) name to mortgage - tax implications?  (Read 760 times)

• Liked: 114
Adding my (USC) name to mortgage - tax implications?
« on: June 11, 2019, 08:40:00 AM »
My husband and I are remortgaging this year and are having to strongly consider adding my name due to needing to increase the amount we are able to borrow (i.e. just his salary isn't going to allow this).  I have been trying to avoid this because, previously, my tax returns have been incredibly straightforward and I did not want to complicate things.  To say I am a tax novice is probably quite the understatement!

I'm just wondering what the US tax implications may be if our mortgaged property is suddenly also under my name?

Do I now need to worry about filing FATCA?  Do I need to report foreign property if it is our family home (i.e. we are not making money off the property)? Is it just capital gains I might need to worry about if/when we come to sell?

I always previously filed as married, separate as my husband is NRA.  To complicate things, we are potentially looking at moving back to the US in 2-5 years or so.  Should I now consider filing as married, joint?

A bit of background:
- Have been living in the UK since 2012
- Am now dual US/UK national
- Previous tax filings have always been straight forward, with FBAR always filed when threshold was met
- We do not make any money off of this property - it is our home

Please go easy on me, because I honestly have no idea what I'm doing or need to do.  I have been trying to avoid this situation for a while because I'm terrified of filing incorrect tax returns!

Thanks in advance for any help/advice!  Failing that... does anyone know/recommend a US/UK tax adviser I could go to?

• Liked: 4985
Re: Adding my (USC) name to mortgage - tax implications?
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2019, 09:24:13 AM »
Doesn't affect FBAR.