Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Might Have Cancer  (Read 2646 times)

• Liked: 55
Might Have Cancer
« on: June 21, 2019, 06:39:23 PM »
I recently found out that I may have cancer and I'm trying to figure out how we are going to make this work financially as I've had to take a leave of absence from one of my jobs. I know Americans have no recourse to public funds but can a spouse apply for UC? It's a bit unsettling having to deal with the prospect of being ill and not having any financial support like unemployment etc.:( Even if I decided to go home I won't technically be a resident so I feel a bit unsettled and nervous

• Liked: 4985
Re: Might Have Cancer
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2019, 06:50:14 PM »
Huge hugs!

Does your employer offer any long term sick benefits?  Any critical illness insurance?

Does your partner work? 

• Liked: 55
« Reply #2 on: June 21, 2019, 06:55:50 PM »
 Thank you!

I'm an independent/self-employed contractor so I have no protection. A lot of fitness companies do this on purpose so they don't have to pay taxes or benefits to us.  My partner does work and his job has offered to let him work from home and to be flexible with his schedule to accommodate me in case.

Huge hugs!

Does your employer offer any long term sick benefits?  Any critical illness insurance?

Does your partner work?

• Liked: 957
« Reply #3 on: June 22, 2019, 11:30:13 AM »
Have you been in touch with Macmillan? I definitely encourage you to, because while you don't qualify for public funds it's likely charities may be able to offer some support. Your husband can qualify for benefits as a single person, but can't claim based on your status/condition :( District nurses who make home visits and the like aren't considered public funds, they are part of the NHS, so you will not be left to fend for yourself as you would in the US. Let us know if there's anything we can help with.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

• Liked: 1892
« Reply #4 on: June 22, 2019, 02:02:55 PM »