Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Are people on fiance visas considered "residents?"  (Read 1113 times)

• Liked: 24
Are people on fiance visas considered "residents?"
« on: July 18, 2019, 05:39:50 PM »
Hi all!  I am on a fiance visa and I'm wondering if I am considered a resident of the UK or the US?  I was thinking that I won't be a resident of the UK until I get the FLR visa that gives me access to jobs, NHS, etc., but it seems kind of strange if I am still a resident of the US since I don't live there anymore... Does anyone know for sure whether I would be considered a UK resident or not?  Thanks in advance!
Fiancee application approved: 10 Jun 2019
Arrived in UK:  2 Jul 2019
FLR#1 application submitted:  11 Sep 2019
Biometrics:  17 Sep 2019

• Liked: 107
Re: Are people on fiance visas considered "residents?"
« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2019, 05:58:28 PM »
You’re an American citizen, you’ll always be an American citizen (unless you renounce it).

Resident comes from the word reside so since you’re residing in the UK I guess you could class yourself as one. Just so you know, there’s no official ‘resident’ status here, you just have your FLR and ILR until you become a citizen
Feb 2014 - Married
29/04/2014 - Spouse Application Approved
02/05/2014 - Visa Received
09/01/2017 - FLR(M) Granted
22/07/2019 - ILR Granted
05/05/2022 - Citizenship

« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2019, 06:22:27 PM »
Thank you.  From the information on this UK government page, it looks like I don't satisfy the requirements to be considered a UK resident:
https://www.gov.uk/tax-foreign-income/residence