Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Greetings from the Willamette Valley, Oregon!  (Read 1956 times)

• Liked: 0
Greetings from the Willamette Valley, Oregon!
« on: August 09, 2019, 07:40:18 PM »
Greetings!

I'm pleased to announce that I'm finally getting to realize a long-held dream of moving to the UK on a work visa. I've been fantasizing about moving overseas for more than 30 years (I'm 47), and am very excited to be finally making it happen.

I found this website/forum by digging around looking for advice on what to pack, and was led here by the article [url]here[https://www.travelfashiongirl.com/moving-to-uk-from-us/url]. (hopefully that hyperlink worked - I'm a noob at this html stuff)

I'm a middle aged punk rock mama, and teach secondary science. (My son is an adult who is not moving over with me. He's staying here in Oregon w/his wife and their cat.) I will be teaching at a secondary school in Tenterden, Kent, and would love any advice on public transport, lodging, commuting, where to get essentials, thrift store access, and really anything.

I've sold my house and am setting up for a yard/garage sale to offload as much of my stuff as possible. I'll be storing some things I can't let go of yet, and will be trying to only take the things I can't get there, or can't be bothered to replace right away.

That's enough information for now. Ask me relevant questions and I'll try to respond in a timely manner.

Thanks for having this great resource!
Holly

• Liked: 6110
Re: Greetings from the Willamette Valley, Oregon!
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2019, 07:51:22 PM »
What an adventure! Welcome!  :)

• Liked: 1892
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2019, 07:55:30 PM »
Tenterden is a great place, and has a steam train running through it.  Look forward to cherries and strawberries during the summer.

And you are super close to some fantastic beaches (Camber Sands) and interesting tourist stuff like Rye.  I envy you!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

• Liked: 1892