Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: New mortgage deal - advice?  (Read 1908 times)

• Liked: 3595
New mortgage deal - advice?
« on: January 09, 2021, 02:20:23 PM »
Hey guys,

So, my initial fixed-rate mortgage term comes to an end in March and I'm trying to decide which new deal to choose... since I've never done this before, I was hoping some of you with experience of remortgaging your houses might be able to offer some advice?

The options I'm trying to decide between are:

1. Choose a new deal online vs. book a phone appointment with a mortgage advisor?
I like the idea of just doing it online myself, but is that wise? I've been doing some internet research and have already gone onto my mortgage lender's website to view the different deals and see my options, so I feel like I'm getting to know how it works and I'm wondering if I actually need to talk to an advisor or not.

2. Length of new fixed-rate deal: 2-year, 3-year or 5-year? (3-year and 5-year have the same interest rate, 2-year has a slightly lower rate)
My initial fixed rate was 5 years, but I read that if you think you might want to move in the next couple of years, it's best to go with a shorter term so you don't have to pay fees if you move during the fixed term. I've been considering trying to move back down south again, but I'm not sure how likely it is I will do it any time soon, since I've been thinking about it for several years and still haven't done it yet, mainly because of the much higher cost of living and property in the south.

3. Do I pay no product fee but have a higher interest rate, or do I pay the product fee (£999) and get a lower rate?