Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: FLR(M) financial requirement HELP!  (Read 612 times)

• settled in UK July 2018 on unmarried partner visa
  • Liked: 1
FLR(M) financial requirement HELP!
« on: March 03, 2021, 08:42:57 AM »
Hi:

I need to apply for my FLR(M) this week, and renew my 'unmarried partner' visa.

I have been researching and gathering documents for months, and thought that I was all set, but have now run into trouble.

I thought to meet the financial requirement I could use my income from self-employment. I am a freelance TV Producer, and go from project to project. I thought they looked at the gross income, which for me in 2019-2020 was £23,083. However, as I have now begun the on-line application, I am seeing they want 'gross taxable profits', and if I am not mistaken, that amounts to just £17,608. My accountant claimed business expenses, lowering my tax burden. So I am thinking that won't work.

Due to COVID and lock downs last year, I lost work, and income, but I don't assume they'd make any concessions for that?

In terms of 'cash savings', if I had to try that route, am I right in thinking we'd need to have £62,500? If that is the case, then we do not have enough.

I am panicking now, as my partner does not work, we are settled here, the kids are settled here, and I have been working and paying the bills. In the months after the financial year 2019-20, I have already earned in excess of £30,000, and keeping us going.

Any words of wisdom or guidance?

Thanks,
H

• Liked: 387
Re: FLR(M) financial requirement HELP!
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2021, 10:45:09 AM »
There appears to be a concession for loss of income due to COVID, but as it's something outside the usual process, I would recommend seeking professional advice if you are looking to pursue this route.

Changes to the minimum income and adequate maintenance requirement