Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: US license but perm UK resident - does this invalidate US rental car insurance?  (Read 1934 times)

• Liked: 3
I've been a UK resident for 20+ years but still maintain a driver's license in Massachusetts (at my brother's address and the state where I was last resident).

When visiting the US, I rarely drive but when I do, I rent a car on my US license. But I'll be driving more on future visits so it had me wondering. If I were to have an accident, would my not being a US resident invalidate any insurance claims in any way? Would the insurance company even know that I'm not a resident? I don't have a UK license b/c I live in London and don't need to drive.

It would be great to hear anyone's personal experience with this. 

• Liked: 4985
How are you demonstrating your "lawful presence" documentation when you renew your license?  I suspect you haven't yet had to switch to a REAL ID (of which the purpose is to ensure people are in fact residents of the state their license is issued)...

Have you severed ties with MA regarding state taxes?  By declaring yourself domiciled in another country, it would be really hard to prove you are a resident and therefore your drivers license is valid....  One of those "can't have it both ways" situations. 

Like all insurance, it's one of those things where you'd only be caught out in case of a claim.  But with litigation still being one of the top ways people becomes millionaires in the USA.... I'd personally not take the risk. 

I'd ask the car rental agency...  they are the ones who will either accept an insurance claim or deny it

• Liked: 718
I agree with everything KFDancer says.

Dual USC/UKC living in the UK since May 2016

• Liked: 3
All fair points, I just hadn't really considered any of this before b/c I rarely drove while in the US. Makes sense. Thanks!