Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Inheritance and Living Abroad  (Read 2575 times)

• Liked: 15
Inheritance and Living Abroad
« on: January 18, 2022, 08:53:54 AM »
Hello,

I’m hoping someone can offer some advice.

My mother passed away in November in the states and I was fortunate enough to be able to return home to be with her when she passed.

It was awful and I spent another six weeks at her home clearing through her things to vacate her apartment and organize her affairs.

I’ve pretty much sorted everything but now that I am back in the UK I am in contact with her former employer regarding her pension which I am a partial beneficiary of. I have been told that this has to be paid into a us bank account but I don’t currently have one and I have no knowledge of how to go about setting this up or even how to process any of this.

Can anyone offer any advice on what the tax situation will be like and what I need to do regarding a bank account? I’m a little overwhelmed by all of this and she was the person I used to ask these sorts of questions. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Met husband: June 2011 (US)
Studied in U.K.: 2012-2015
Engaged: January 2013
Married: December 29th 2015 (UK)
Visa arrived in Sheffield: August 18th, 2016
Email to say visa application received: September 20th, 2016
Visa approved!: October 25th, 2016
Arrived (again) in the UK: November 22nd, 2016

• Liked: 170
Re: Inheritance and Living Abroad
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2022, 09:46:25 AM »
Very sorry to hear about your loss.

I can only offer advice on the bank account situation, really. The exact bank account that expats always wanted: both gbp and usd accounts at the same bank that you can easily move money between?? Wise (formerly Transferwise) do just such accounts.