Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: Chocolate cake recipe  (Read 1510 times)

• Maine to London
  • Liked: 0
Chocolate cake recipe
« on: October 16, 2002, 10:35:41 AM »
Hubby's birthday is this weekend and I would love to bake a chocolate cake, help! :o  Does anyone have any easy chocolate cake recipe?  Also, where can I find cake tins?  
Thanks everybody!
expat
You only live once, but if you work it right, once is enough.

• Liked: 2
Re: Chocolate cake recipe
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2002, 04:45:16 PM »

I'm a big cake baker but I have to tell you that I find something very different about the flour here. All cakes I make tend to be tougher and flatter than what I used to create from scratch in the states. They're still okay but they are nowhere near as good as a cake mix. My sincere advice to you is to get down to your big supermarket and pick up a box of Betty Crocker chocolate cake mix.  :o They really are very good and most all the big supermarkets carry them. Maybe someone else will have the winning recipe but believe me, I have tried dozens of chocolate cake recipes and I am convinced it is down to how the flour is milled over here....

Cake tins you can actually get at the supermarket as well in the cookware section. If not, head to your local Woolworth's where they always have them but 9" tins tend to be harder to find.

Do keep us posted on how it turns out.....
"When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life; for there is in London all that life can afford." - Samuel Johnson

• Maine to London
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2002, 04:53:37 PM »
Thanks hopster, I am heading to sainsburys then woolworths right now.   ;)
expat

• Liked: 1
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2002, 05:43:09 PM »
I don't know if either of you have heard this, the 'strong flour' in the UK is the equilivant to the normal flour you would buy in the states.  'Plain flour' is the same as cake flour in the states.  I have made several cakes recently with strong flour and not had any problems.