Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: How long did it take for you to find a job in the UK? (London advice especially)  (Read 1480 times)

• Liked: 0
Since I'm a newbie, not sure if this topic has been covered ad nauseum, but one of the factors which would influence the possibility of me moving to the UK (as opposed to my boyfriend moving here) is how easy it is to find a job?  I currently have a decent job with a major news network (and given I live in Atlanta, I'm sure you can guess which one  ;-)) but it's a bit boring at this point after nearly 5 years and I see this as an opportunity to move on to bigger, better things - but I'm not opposed to working for a bit less to try something new. 

Just wanted to know how long, on average, it took everyone to find a job once they moved to the UK - especially in or near London since that is where we would reside should we move there...

Thanks a bundle!

PS:  I would be coming over on a Fiance visa so the job hunt would start AFTER I was established in the UK once we were married and I had a work permit. 

• Liked: 1
it took me a month and a half of solid searching.  meeting with agencies all the time (3-4 a week) and then going on a few interviews.

I wasn't a good fit for one.  (of course the one i was obsessed with) and had 2 offers int he same week.  (my current company 'stole' me away from the other i was going to join).

I'm lucky though as i work in financial marketing and there are a lot of opprotunities here for that kind of role.  My CV was solid and still some companies didn't even look at me as i had no UK experience.  I used to hate that i would get the 'they really like your CV, BUT....'

And I work and live in central london

• Liked: 8
I'm not in London (Newcastle upon Tyne), but I'll answer anyway.   ;D