Hello

Sponsored Links

Topic: WEP Questionnaire  (Read 2183 times)

• Liked: 6
WEP Questionnaire
« on: October 02, 2022, 07:11:40 PM »
Quick recap - I’m a UK citizen and resident.  I’ve just turned 65.  I receive a US SS retirement benefit as a result of SS contributions from working abroad.  I started taking my SS benefit at age 62.  I will receive various UK pensions in due course - state pension at 66.  I have 2 company pensions which I’ve deferred for now - will probably start taking those at the same time as my UK state pension, although I’ll review nearer the time.

I’ve just received a letter from the SSA in the USA - Retirement, Survivors and Disability Insurance, Request For Information - maybe precipitated by my turning 65?  Specifically, they want to know details of my UK pensions, in order that they can do their WEP calculations.

Obviously, I want to give correct answers - most are easy, but one in particular is unclear.

1. Have you retired and started receiving a social insurance benefit from another country or a private pension based on earnings not covered by Social Security.
NO (although I suppose there’s a philosophical, maybe technical, debate to be had regarding the definition of “retired”)

2. If NO, when do you expect to receive a pension.
Based on what I said earlier - probably when I’m 66.

Now, this is the problematic one:
3. What is the earliest date you could have received a pension had you stopped working and made application?
One of my company pensions is a deferred annuity (long story, UK company who went bankrupt in the 90s, pension into trust, taken over by Pru).  Technically, although my normal retirement age is 65, I could have taken that pension years ago.  My second company pension was also available at my normal retirement age.  As I mentioned, I’ve deferred both these pensions.

So, any suggestions as to what is the correct answer to that third question?

• Liked: 45
Re: WEP Questionnaire